List of nicknames of Indian Prime Ministers

The head of the Indian government is the prime minister. The Prime Minister of India is chosen by the president; however, unless the prime minister resigns, he or she must have the support of a majority of Lok Sabha members, who are directly elected every five years.

India, a country rich in emotions and values, has given its leaders various nicknames in recognition of their extraordinary contributions to the development of the country. These nicknames can be abbreviations that replace a given name or a completely different name to express affection, interest, a personality trait or denigration of character.

Do you know the nickname of the Prime Minister of India?

India’s New Cabinet Ministers List 2022: Check the updated list with Portfolio

List of nicknames of Indian Prime Ministers

There have been 14 prime ministers in India since 1947. Jawaharlal Nehru was India’s first prime minister, serving during the Indian Dominion period (August 15, 1947–January 26, 1950) and after it was the Republic of India from that point onwards until his death in May 1964. While the current prime minister, Narendra Modi, is the first non-congressman to lead the country for two consecutive terms. next.

Prime Minister of India


political parties

Jawahar Lal Nehru

Pandit, Chacha

Indian Parliament

Lal Bahadur Shastri

Peaceful man

Nam Ha

Indian Parliament

Indira Gandhi


India’s Iron Lady

Mother India


Indian Parliament

Morarji Desai

Principled man

Janata Party

Charan Singh

Champion of Indian farmers

Janata Party (secular)

Rajiv Gandhi

Father of India’s information technology and telecommunications revolution

Indian Parliament

Vishwanath Pratap Singh

Mr Clean

Janata Dal

Chandra Shekhar

Young Turks

Samajwadi Janata Party

Reporter Narasimha Rao

Chanakya of modern times

Indian Parliament

Atal Bihari Vajpayee


Bhishma Pitamaha

Bhartiya Janata Party

HD Deve Gowda

Mannina Maga (Son of the Earth)

Dodda Gowdaru (Premium Gowda)

Janata Dal

Manmohan singh

The Prime Minister was silent

PM by chance

Indian Parliament

Narendra Modi

Namo, Modiji, Chaiwala, Chowkidar

Bhartiya Janata Party

Interesting facts about the Prime Minister of India

  • Pandit Nehru, the country’s first prime minister, was imprisoned nine times during the struggle for independence from the British Raj, for a total of 3,259 days.
  • Due to his role as Acting Prime Minister, Gulzarilal Nanda is not considered the second or fourth Prime Minister of India.
  • When Shastri was the transport minister, he was the first to nominate a female conductor.
  • India’s first and only female prime minister is Indira Gandhi.
  • India’s first non-Congress Prime Minister was Morarji Desai.
  • For 170 days, Chaudhary Charan Singh served as India’s prime minister.
  • At the age of 40, Rajiv Gandhi, husband of Sonia Gandhi, is the youngest person to hold the position of Prime Minister of India.
  • In 1970, Air India also recruited him as a pilot.
  • The first Prime Minister to resign after a vote of no confidence was Vishwanath Pratap Singh.
  • The first Indian Prime Minister to never hold a government position was Chandra Shekhar.
  • Lawyer PV Narasimha Rao is fluent in 17 languages.
  • During his time as a student, Mr. Gujral was influenced by nationalist ideas and joined the Communist Party of India as well as the All India Students’ Federation.
  • The world’s most qualified Prime Minister is Manmohan Singh, India’s first Sikh leader.
  • The first Prime Minister born after India gained independence from the British Raj was Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The Prime Minister of India serves as the leader of the executive branch and is in charge of proceedings in parliament. He is usually the leader of the majority party or coalition in the Lok Sabha, the main legislative body of the Republic of India. While Lok Sabha acts as the permanent watchdog of the prime minister.

List of Prime Ministers of India (1947-2023)

Categories: Optical Illusion

Leave a Comment